NSW Health is the major provider of health services to people in NSW. It is made up of a range of organisations offering health services and support.

NSW Health includes:

  • the Ministry of Health
  • Local Health Districts and Specialty Networks
  • other NSW Health organisations and Pillars

The Secretary of NSW Health has overall responsibility for the management and oversight of NSW Health.

NSW Health employs over 100,000 staff. The scope of work undertaken ranges from acute hospital care to policy development, health promotion and community health initiatives.

Ministry of Health

The Ministry of Health, formerly the Department of Health, supports the executive and statutory roles of the NSW Minister for Health, and Minister for Medical Research, as well as the Minister for Mental Health and Assistant Minister for Health. It monitors the performance of organisations in the NSW public health system, known collectively as NSW Health.

The Ministry of Health also guides the development of services and investments in the NSW public health system to ensure that the health priorities for NSW are achieved for the community of NSW. These priorities are outlined in:

Local Health Districts and Specialty Networks

NSW Health has 15 Local Health Districts (LHDs) and 3 Specialty Networks. Local Health Districts and Specialty Networks operate public hospitals and institutions and provide health services in a range of settings to communities within geographical areas or a defined patient population for Specialty Networks.

  • There are 8 Local Health Districts covering the greater Sydney metropolitan regions, and 7 cover rural and regional NSW.
  • Each Local Health District and Specialty Network has been established with a governing board which are an important part of the overall management of the public health system in NSW.

Specialty Networks consist of:

  • Justice and Forensic Mental Health Network: a state-wide service providing forensic mental health services to forensic patients as well as to adult and juvenile offenders in local courts, in custody and detention, and in the community. It also provides health services to adult offenders in police cells.
  • The Sydney Children's Hospital Network: the largest paediatric healthcare entity in Australia. It comprises of the Sydney Children's Hospital at Randwick and the Sydney Children's Hospital at Westmead. This network is committed to providing world-class paediatric health care in a family-focused, healing environment.
  • St Vincent's Hospitals network: a major provider of public and private health and aged care services, the group comprises St Vincent's Hospital, St Vincent's Private Hospital, Sacred Heart Health Service, Mater Hospital, St Joseph's Hospital and St Joseph's Village. Collectively, the network provides a broad range of care across community, outpatient and inpatient settings as well as residential aged care.

Other NSW Health organisations

NSW Health also comprises a number of other statewide health organisations or specialist health services, including:

  • NSW Ambulance: responsible for the delivery of front line pre-hospital care, medical retrieval and health related transport
  • Health Infrastructure: provide strategic guidance in the delivery of major health projects for the state
  • Health Protection NSW: responsible for surveillance and public health response in New South Wales, including monitoring the incidence of notifiable infectious diseases and taking appropriate action to control the spread of diseases
  • HealthShare NSW: provides common shared services across corporate, technology and disability services to NSW Health customers in an innovative, efficient and cost effective manner
  • NSW Health Pathology: provides quality, reliable public pathology, forensic and analytical science services
  • Office of Health and Medical Research: supports leading health and medical research efforts
  • eHealth: provides statewide leadership on the shape, delivery and management of Information Communication Technology led healthcare


Related NSW Organisations

  • Health Care Complaints Commission: acts to protect public health and safety by dealing with complaints about health service providers in NSW
  • Health Professional Councils Authority: an administrative body that supports the 14 health professional Councils to perform their regulatory and legislative functions under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme
  • Mental Health Commission of NSW: an independent non-government body which helps to drive reform that benefits people with lived experience of mental illness and their families and carers
  • We're serious about our commitment!

    NSW Health is committed to improving the health and wellbeing of Aboriginal people, their families and communities.

    Read more

    Snapshot of a day in NSW Health

    Find out what happens on a typical day in the biggest public health system in Australia.

    Read more